Arjun Atwal corrects course with a 67, Viktor Hovland among the leaders

Arjun Atwal jumped 48 places with a 5-under 67 while Anirban Lahiri repeated 70 in the Puerto Rico Open. Kyle Stanley, Josh Teater, Emiliano Grillo and Viktor Hovland lead at 10-under


22 February 2020: There is a four-way tie at the top of the Puerto Rico Open, as Kyle Stanley, Josh Teater, Emiliano Grillo and Viktor Hovland jostle for victory in the opposite field event, held in the same week as the top-tier WGC Mexico Championship. Arjun Atwal bounced back from an opening 73 with a brilliant 67 on Friday. Anirban Lahiri shot a second straight 70 as both men reached the weekend in T33. The four men in front are at 10-under with Sam Ryder trailing by one.

Arjun Atwal shows courage and skills

Atwal was having a spectacular day, firing his cylinders with a birdie at the 11th before going past the turn on a pair of birdies at the 17th and 18th holes. He cushioned his card with birdies at the 2nd and 4th before suffering the lone blemish at the 8th hole. He made immediate amends though as ended the day with a sixth birdie at the 9th hole.

The veteran Indian was in spectacular form, with a driving accuracy of nearly 86%, helping him make 72% of the greens in regulation. His putting average was 1.54.

Anirban Lahiri plays some resolute golf

Meanwhile, Lahiri continued to tread cautiously as he works diligently to steer his PGA TOUR career forward with grim determination. As was the case in the opening round, he suffered an early lapse. Only this time it was worse. Anirban conceded a double bogey five at the 11th hole and a birdie at the 17th was only enough to mitigate some of that damage as he made the turn at 1-over for the round.

Anirban made three birdies in the last five holes as he coasted home to another 70 for a halfway score of 4-under 140. The 32-year-old was averaging 1.82 putts and making just 61% of the greens in regulation, as he continued to scramble respectable scores.

David Lingmerth climbed 46 places to T6 with a second round 65 while Sam Ryder gained 26 spots with a similar score. Hovland moved into a tie for the lead with his 66, while Ben Martin leapt 25 spots into T6 with a 66.

Stanley added a 70 to his opening 64 to retain a share of the lead while Teater and Grillo joined the party with a 68.