Branden Grace busts the 62 myth at majors

Branden Grace took the monkey of golf's back by scoring the first ever 62 in a major championship. There have been 31 instances of 63.

Branden Garce after making par on the 18th at Royal Birkdale to complete his 62

Southport, July 22, 2017: It happened on an ordinary English summer day. After a wait that lasted 157 years, the 62, a number that wasn’t previously accomplished in major tournament history was finally made. The magical number came from an unlikely hero in the form of Branden Grace. The South African shot 29 on the front nine before coming home in 33 strokes to inscribe his name on the pages of golf’s golden history.

62 Score Card Brendan Grace
62 Score Card Brendan Grace

Over the years, there have been several rounds of 63. Mind you, on a par 72 that is a nine under score, unlike Brendan’s which is a eight under 62 on a par 70 course.

But as an absolute number, the 62 has never been accomplished in major championship history. The last 63 came in the US Open this year, when Justin Thomas broke the tournament record with a third round 63.

The 62 has been spoken of in the same breath as the Bannister mile, considering how the four minute barrier was considered unbreakable.

The bag that served Branden Grace with caddie Zack Rasego carrying it at the Open during his round of 62
The bag that served Branden Grace with caddie Zack Rasego carrying it at the Open during his round of 62

“It is special, it really is. And then finishing the round and finding out makes it even better,” said a thrilled Grace. “It is something I really enjoyed and something I will remember forever, definitely.”

“Augusta is a beast on its own because of the wind, because of the greens. And then you look at the PGA and US Open, it is brutal. It is just a tough test,” reflected Grace, when asked why it took so long to make a 62. “So it is hard to answer that question, but I think sooner or later somebody is going to break 62. But hopefully it takes a while.”

In fact that “while” felt like an hour, with Dustin Johnson hot on its heels at six under through 15 holes. But he made par at the last three holes to settle for a 64 on the day.

The many people that thronged the Open today though will go back and narrate tales of how they were inside the venue when the unthinkable 62 happened.


Masters (2) – Year, Venue, Round, Score (Par), Final Position

Nick Price — 1986, Augusta National, 3rd round, -9 (72), 5th

Greg Norman — 1996, Augusta National, 1st round, -9 (72), 2nd


U.S. Open (5)

Johnny Miller – 1973, Oakmont, 4th round, -8 (71), WIN

Jack Nicklaus – 1980, Baltusrol, 1st round, -7 (70), WIN

Tom Weiskopf – 1980, Baltusrol, 1st round, -7 (70), 37th

Vijay Singh – 2003, Olympia Fields, 2nd round, -7 (70), T-20

Justin Thomas – 2017, Erin Hills, 3rd round, -9 (63), T-9


The Open (10)

Mark Hayes – 1977, Turnberry, 2nd round, -7 (70), T-9

Isao Aoki – 1980, Muirfield, 3rd round, -8 (71), T-12

Greg Norman – 1986, Turnberry, 2nd round, -7 (70), WIN

Paul Broadhurst – 1990, St. Andrews, 3rd round, -9 (72), T-12

Jodie Mudd – 1991, Birkdale, 4th round, -7 (70), T-5

Nick Faldo – 1993, St. George’s, 2nd round, -7 (70), 2nd

Payne Stewart – 1993, St. George’s, 4th round, -7 (70), 12th

Rory McIlroy – 2010, St. Andrews, 1st round, -9 (72), T-3

Phil Mickelson – 2016, Royal Troon, 1st round, -8 (71), 2nd

Henrik Stenson – 2016, Royal Troon, final round, -8 (71), WIN


PGA Championship (14)

Bruce Crampton – 1975, Firestone, 2nd round, -7 (70), 2nd

Raymond Floyd – 1982, Southern Hills, 1st round, -7 (70), WIN

Gary Player – 1984, Shoal Creek, 2nd round, -9 (72), T-2

Vijay Singh – 1993, Inverness, 2nd round, -8 (71), 4th

Michael Bradley – 1995, Riviera, 1st round, -8 (71), T-54

Brad Faxon – 1995, Riviera, 4th round, -8 (71), 5th

Jose Maria Olazabal – 2000, Valhalla, 3rd round, -9 (72), T-4

Mark O’Meara – 2001, Atlanta Athletic, 2nd round, -7 (70), T-22

Thomas Bjorn – 2005, Baltusrol, 3rd round, -7 (70), T-2

Tiger Woods – 2007, Southern Hills, 2nd round, -7 (70), WIN

Steve Stricker – 2011, Atlanta Athletic, 1st round, -7 (70), T-12

Jason Dufner – 2013, Oak Hill, 2nd round, -7 (70), WIN

Hiroshi Iwata – 2015, Whistling Straits, 2nd round, -9 (72), T-21

Robert Streb – 2016, Baltusrol, 2nd round, -7 (70), T-7

Join the Conversation