Casey Danielson named recipient of 2017 Dinah Shore Trophy

Stanford University’s Casey Danielson honored with Dinah Shore Trophy for 2017 for golf excellence, leadership skills and community service.

Casey Danielson

May 18, 2017: Casey Danielson of Stanford University has been selected as the recipient of the 2017 Dinah Shore Trophy, cementing her status as one of the top collegiate female golfers who has made an impact on the course through her leadership and on society through charitable endeavor. (Watch Danielson’s interview with Golf Channel here).

Administered by the LPGA Foundation, the Dinah Shore Trophy Award recognizes female collegiate golfers who excel in both academics (3.2 on a 4.0 scale) and athletics – playing in at least 50 percent of the team’s scheduled events – while maintaining a 78.00 or less scoring average. In addition, nominees must demonstrate outstanding leadership skills and community service.

A four-time high school state champion in Wisconsin, Danielson was a member of the Stanford University women’s golf team that won the 2014 PAC 12 Championship and the 2015 NCAA National Championship. Under her captaincy, Stanford is currently ranked No. 1 in the nation and she led the team to a runner-up spot at the 2016 NCAA National Championship. Known for her exceptional work ethic and leadership qualities, Danielson earned selection to the 2017 All-Pac-12 First Team.

Danielson is not only a major contributor to her golf team but is also heavily involved in community engagement. As a Stanford golf camp counselor, she has helped coordinate camp activities, provide golf instruction and introduce important life skills to kids ages 5-15. She is also a founder of ‘Birdies for a Cause’ in her home state of Wisconsin, raising money for local and national non-profit organizations by connecting community pledges with golfer performance.

The Dinah Shore Trophy Award is a joint effort between The LPGA Foundation, Friends of Golf (FOG) organization and the ANA Inspiration – one of the LPGA’s five major championships and the largest contributor to the Dinah Shore Scholarship Fund. As part of the Dinah Shore Trophy Award, a $10,000 grant will be awarded to the Stanford University women’s golf program.

Former winners of this prestigious award include: Columbia University’s Jackie Chulya (2016), East Carolina University’s Katie Kirk (2015), University of Arkansas’ Emily Tubert (2014), Michigan State University alum Caroline Powers (2013), North Dakota State’s Amy Anderson (2012), University of California graduate Pia Halbig (2011), University of Central Florida alum and current Symetra Tour member Katie Detlefsen (2010), Duke University grad and LPGA Tour player Amanda Blumenherst (2008, 2009), University of Arkansas alumna and 2012 Rolex LPGA Player of the Year Stacy Lewis (2007), and the University of South Carolina’s Erica Battle (2006).

The LPGA Foundation announced the Dinah Shore Scholarship Fund in March of 1994 in honor of the late Dinah Shore, a Vanderbilt University graduate and an honorary member of the LPGA and LPGA Tour Hall of Fame. The Dinah Shore Trophy Award has contributed more than $184,000 to women’s collegiate golf programs, including this year.


LPGA Tour Release

Join the Conversation