Samridh Sen wins Shillong Open Title

Samridh Sen captures Shillong Open at the Par 70 after carding a second round 84 and a two-day gross of 166 at Shillong Golf Club

Samridh Sen wins Shillong Open

Apr 16, 2017: Samridh Sen overcame a strong challenge from the overnight leader Aditesh Bajaj to capture the Shillong Open title by a solitary stroke after carding a second round 84 and a two-day gross of 166 here at the Par 70 Shillong Golf Club.

Aditesh (167) finished in sole second place as his challenge faded away in extraordinary circumstances after dropping as many as nine strokes in his final five holes. After leading for the majority of the event, it was a heartbreak for the young lad from Kolkata.

Sonu Kumar Rai brought a lot of local cheers as he finished third a further stroke behind at 168 to be followed by city mate Rahman Ali at 171 in fourth.

Another local lad Lakshya Bajaj won the Category B title by a comfortable five strokes over Subham Adak and also finished in seventh place overall after carding a total of 175 over the two days. Homeboy Franky Kurbah was placed third a further eight strokes behind at 188.

Category C saw Ramayush Ray score the most comfortable of victories as he carded the week’s best of 161 for the two rounds. Saquib Hussain (181) took the runner up spot while Kabir Mehta was placed third on the leaderboard tied at 191 with Maitreya Milan Saikia.

Aditya Khaitan won the Category D Boys while Category E was clinched by Prashant Agarwal (80) of Kolkata over Deeyon Sian Pao (85) and Deep Bajaj (131), both from Shillong Golf Club.

Shillong big hope Kayra Reying Pao topped the charts after carding a gross of 167 in Girls’ Category A&B while it was Sana Hussain of RCGC who took the honors in Category D.

The winner’s prizes were handed over by Mr. A. L. Hek, MLA, Mr. AH Scott, former Minister & Director-In-Charge Golf, Shillong Club Ltd., Bro Solomon Morris, Principal, St. Edmunds School amongst others.


Release by Meghalaya Golf Promoters’ Society

Join the Conversation