Star-studded Hero Indian Open 2017 field

Dozen past champions, in the filed for one of the largest gatherings of past champions in the National Open of India at Hero Indian Open 16 times.

SSP Chawrasia with Anirban Lahiri

Feb 28, 2017: The star-studded field for Hero Indian Open 2017 will include a dozen past champions, who between them have won the Hero Indian Open 16 times. It makes for one of the largest gatherings of past champions in the National Open of India, which is now 53 years old.

The past five champions led by defending champion, SSP Chawrasia, will feature in the US $ 1.75 million event, which is co-sanctioned by European and Asian Tours.

Apart from Chawrasia (2016), the list of past five champions includes Anirban Lahiri (2015), Siddikur Rahman (2013), Thaworn Wiratchant (2012) and David Gleeson (2011).

Another interesting feature is that every champion barring Rikard Karlberg (2010) since 2004 is entered for the event.

Interestingly, Chawrasia and Lahiri have finished in Top-3 in their last three starts at the Hero Indian Open. While Chawrasia won in 2016 and Lahiri was Tied-2nd, Chawrasia was second when Lahiri won in 2015. Both Lahiri and Chawrasia were Tied-2nd when Siddikur Rahman won in 2013.

All the top Indians and World No. 25 Rafa Cabrera-Bello will be seen in action at the Hero Indian Open, which is now in its third year on the European Tour. The field also includes Kiradech Aphinbarnarat of Thailand and a host of other in-form players.

The field includes a bunch of young Turks from India, Asia and Europe, all of whom are eager to make a mark at one of the oldest tournaments in Asia.

The Hero Indian Open 2017 will be held at the Gary Player course at the DLF Golf & Country Club from March 9 to 12, 2017.

The prize purse has been enhanced to US$ 1.75 million, which is almost six times more than US$ 300,000, which it was when Hero took on the Title Sponsorship of the Indian Open in 2005.

The list of champions, who have entered the Hero Indian Open 2017

Player                         Year of winning

  1. SSP Chawrasia                     2016
  2. Anirban Lahiri                      2015
  3. Siddikur Rahman                  2013
  4. Thaworn Wiratchant             2012 and 2005
  5. David Gleeson                      2011
  6. C Muniyappa                        2009
  7. Liang Wenchong                   2008
  8. Jyoti Randhawa                     2007, 2006, 2000
  9. Mardan Mamat                      2004
  10. Thongchai Jaidee                   2001
  11. Arjun Atwal                           1999
  12. Feroze Ali                              1998

Asian Tour Release

Join the Conversation