Vani wins third title of the year on Hero Women’s Pro Tour

Vani Kapoor fired commanding bogey free three-under-par 68 in the final round to win eighth leg of Hero women's professional golf tour.

Vani Kapoor leads Leg 01 of 2018 season

July 14, 2017: Vani Kapoor stormed to her third win in four starts on the Hero Women’s Professional Golf Tour with a commanding and bogey free three-under 68 in the final round of the eighth leg of the Tour at Clover Greens. The 23-year-old Vani, who has been dividing her time between the Ladies European Tour events and the domestic Hero WPG earlier won the fourth and sixth and was Tied-3rd in the fifth leg.

Gaurika Bishnoi kept her lead at the top of the Hero Order of Merit as she logged her third straight second place finish. She continues to be the most consistent performer of the season with seven finishes in Top-4 in eight starts, that include one win and three second places and two third places.

On the Order of Merit, Gaurika maintained her top spot with Vani Kapoor moving from fifth to third spot. Saaniya Sharma, Smriti Mehra and Sharmila Nicollet hold the fourth to sixth places.

Amandeep Drall, who like Vani has also been playing on the Ladies European Tour shared the second place with Gaurika.

Playing each one of her rounds with par or under par scores, Vani had three birdies and no bogeys for a flawless round and it was best card of the week. She birdied fifth, eighth and 11th holes and despite the starting the day only one shot clear of her nearest rivals, she dominated the final day and ended a winner by a massive six-shot margin.

Gaurika Bishnoi, one behind Vani at start, had two birdies and two bogeys and dropped a double bogey on the last, which cost her sole second place finish. Amandeep’s 72 included a bogey-bogey finish.

Amateur Ankita Kedlaya, bidding to be the first amateur winner this season, started one behind the leader. She began well with an early birdie but two bogeys on fifth and ninth meant she turned in one-over and with Vani turning in two-under, the gap between them was now four shots. Things went worse for Ankita, who dropped four bogeys, one double and one triple for a nine-over 43 on the back nine and ended Tied-10th.

Smriti Mehra (73), Saaniya Sharma (71) and Gursimar Badwal (69) were fourth, fifth and sixth, while Tvesa Malik (72) and Neha Tripathi (74) shared the seventh spot. Sharmila Nicollet (73) was ninth and amateur Seher Atwal (74) shared the tenth place with Anikta.


WGAI Tour Release

Join the Conversation