Honey Baisoya wins Players Championship

Honey Baisoya shot a second straight 69 to score a comfortable four shot victory at the Noida Golf Course


February 10, 2017: Honey Baisoya continued his golden run from 2016 as he bagged his third title in a span of three months on the PGTI. The Delhi golfer delivered a resolute three-under-69 in round four of the PGTI Players Championship at Noida Golf Course to win the season-opener with a comfortable four-shot margin at 13-under-275.

Honey Baisoya
Honey Baisoya

Honey Baisoya (70-67-69-69), lying two shots back in third place ahead of the final day, sprang to life on the back nine. Honey was one over for the day with only five holes to play.

But in a sudden burst of brilliance, he swept past the field with a surging run of four birdies in the last five holes to win the title. “I did not expect to pick up pace at the end,” Honey told Golfing Indian. “It was nice to finish like that and win another title. I look forward to continue playing well for the rest of the season.”

Shamim Khan (74), Ajeetesh Sandhu (74) and Shankar Das (77), all contenders coming into the final round, couldn’t break par on Friday. While Shamim finished second at nine-under-279, Ajeetesh and Shankar shared third place at seven-under-281.

Khan made three bogeys in the day before signing off with a birdie at the final hole for a positive finish.

Ajeetesh marched through the front nine in just 35 strokes. But he conceded four strokes on the return stretch as he too made a 74 in the final round.

First round leader Shankar Das had a disappointed final round, including five bogeys and a double at the par-4 15th hole. The 77 proved costly as he slipped into a tie for third.

Khalin Joshi has shown some good form in recent weeks, but he did not find it in Noida. Khalin failed to break par during the week, posting scores of 73-72-72-73 for a T19 finish.



Join the Conversation