Amandeep Drall wins back to back titles

Amandeep Drall produced just enough in the final round to pip Tvesa Malik and Khushi Khanijau to the finish line in the eleventh leg

Amandeep Drall wins the title in the eleventh leg

18 August 2018: Amandeep Drall kept control of her nerves in the closing stages of the final round of the 11th leg of the Hero Women’s Pro Golf Tour to clinch back-to-back victories on the Tour. It was her third title in four events, as she earlier won the eighth and tenth legs, both at Clover Greens. Amandeep’s final round card of 75 helped her total 8-over 224 and she finished two clear of Tvesa Malik (75) and overnight leader, Khushi Khanijau (78).

Khushi started the day with a one-shot lead, but three bogeys against one birdie meant she allowed Amandeep with two birdies and two bogeys to move ahead.

Amandeep gets her giant cheque from Brandon de Souza
Amandeep gets her giant cheque from Brandon de Souza

Khushi, looking for her maiden title, stayed in strong contention even as she made the turn at 2-over. At that stage, Amandeep was 5-over for the tournament while Khushi was one shot behind.

It was on the back nine that Khushi’s nerves began to take a toll. Amandeep had four bogeys, but she also found one birdie on the Par-5 14th, while Khushi dropped four bogeys in a space of five holes between 12th and 16th. She needed to finish birdie-birdie but managed only pars.

Amandeep despite bogeys on 16th and 17th held out for a par on 18th and won her third title of the season.

Afshan Fatima (77) was fourth, while Siddhi Kapoor (73) and Millie Saroha (77) were Tied-5th.

The win also carried Amandeep to the third spot on the Hero Order of Merit and she now has three wins in eight starts this season.

Tvesa Malik and Neha Tripathi are the top two on the Hero Order of Merit and have won one title each. Amandeep has three wins, while Gursimar Badwal has two. Vani Kapoor and Sharmila Nicollet have won once each.

Join the Conversation